Updates / News

NEW 2018 Barbie Products -Are They Chic, or “So Last Week?”

What’s up, dolls? Today I decided to show you some of the new products coming in 2018 -you might have already seen them floating around the Internet before. I took these images from Amazon and Papusile Mele (the #1 source for the latest products!).

There are lots of new fashions coming soon! I think both tops and very cute, but I’m not a big fan of either of the skirts. I wish they were real denim!

There are also an assortment of New Made to Move dolls coming! I think this girl is really sweet, I love her wavy hair. I think their clothing is much prettier than the earlier waves. I will probably end up buying at least one new Made to Move doll!

Here is a new Club Chelsea playset -a train! I think this is very original and very cute!

I think this playset is really cute -it’s definitely on my wishlist! (even though the doll is quite ugly) I love the magazines on the rack, although I wish the shelves were bigger. It’s interesting to compare similar playsets that have been produced throughout the years -for example, check out this Happy Family grocery store playset from the early 2000s.

While this set has lots of shelf space, it does look a bit dated. But I think Mattel should definitely take some inspiration from sets from the past!

This bee keeper playset is really original -have you ever heard of a bee keeper playset before? I wouldn’t purchase it myself, but it’s definitely a big step-up from the regular dentist / doctor / vet playsets!

I think this doll must be part of the new Fashionistas lineup -isn’t she cute? Her neutral makeup against her black hair makes me think of Kylie Jenner! This girl is on my ‘must buy’ list for sure!

This girl also looks like a Fashionista. Her outfit is so stylish! She looks like a cool girl who hangs out in the city -she’s on my wish list, too!

Some of these Hello Kitty fashions are really cute (like the red dress!) but some of them are not really my style (like the Little Twin Stars one). I think all the accessories are really cute -it’s just a shame they didn’t come with shoes!

And the award for Best Playset goes to… the Ambulance playset! When folded up, it looks like a regular ambulance, but when you open it up… It’s a waiting room, optometrist and hospital bed all in one! Isn’t that neat? It’s not something I would personally use, but it’s great for all those ‘doctor’ dolls that Mattel keeps splurting out!

Look at all these fashions! I would happily purchase any of these! I love how each fashion pack is ‘themed,’ for example, beach-themed, rock-chic, boho, preppy, urban, etc. These are on my wishlist for sure.

Here we have an artist playset. Look at that Made to Move articulation! I don’t think we’ve had a MTM playset before. Again, it’s not something I am personally interested in, but it’s cool to see Mattel trying out new things.

Now, this set is really cool! I don’t think we’ve had a news anchor doll since the 2010 I Can Be… A News Anchor doll. I really like the camera, I think that’s very realistic. I’m not a big fan of Barbie’s outfit, but I really like the doll who is holding the camera.

what's

So, what have we learnt from this?

Barbie is changing. She is becoming even more diverse, adding more careers to her resume and finding new ways to connect with her ever-changing audience of young girls. This is demonstrated by the increasing range of body types that are becoming more widely available, the new playsets that promote creative play and the new fashions that allow girls to express their personal style through play!

But what do you think? Are the new products chic, or “so last week?”

 

 

6 thoughts on “NEW 2018 Barbie Products -Are They Chic, or “So Last Week?”

  1. I have to admit that I love this new stuff and I’ve gone a bit overboard by pre-ordering all the new MTM dolls, one of the new Fashionistas and three play sets. And the new Frida Kahlo and Katherine Johnson dolls… My husband is going to be, um, surprised? LOL!

    Like

  2. Nice post, Holly! The faces and makeup are looking a bit more pretty and realistic, I think. I’m still waiting to see the MTM dancer doll with the boombox in my stores or on Amazon. Why aren’t all Barbies made to move!??? It’s exasperating, some of the most lovely dolls can do little more than sit and look pretty.

    Like

    1. Yes, so true! It’s so frustrating when there’s no skintone match so they just stand there, unable to sit on a chair or hold up a piece of food. I really hope that Mattel steps up their physical availability in the future -it’s so annoying going to a store and not finding anything you want.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment